Notes are an essential aspect of order items, allowing users across multiple teams to communicate important information both within the company and to external clients.
Notes serve several purposes, including:
- Client instructions or special requests.
- Highlighting specific actions that need to be taken for all items in an order.
- Documenting previous actions taken or repairs made for future reference.
- Explaining the reason for a rejection or noting additional assets required for repairs or actions.
- Sharing the history of the order/asset, providing context that may not be immediately apparent.
- Providing details about the item or offering delivery instructions.
Notes Overview
Notes are typically found within the Orders or Order Items page. If an active note exists on an order, a icon will show on the Notes column. If the order does not any active notes, a
icon will appear.
Clicking on either of these two icons will open the Note window similar to below. The top will display all available notes, the bottom lets users create new notes.
Adding a New Note
Users have the ability to add new notes at the bottom of the Notes window. Required fields are indicated with a red asterisk (*)
-
Type - Select the type of item you want to add a note for. The available options include:
Order – Notes related to the overall order.
Order Item – Notes specific to an individual order item.
Deliverable – Notes for specific deliverables, such as Subtitles, Episode, Closed Caption, etc.
Fulfillment Task – Notes related to fulfillment tasks, such as Package, Delivery, Provider Approval (Metadata), or Restricted Due Date.
- Email Note - If an email is provided, the recipient will receive an email notification that a note has been added. This will also include a link to the order, as well as information about what type of note, when it was added and who added the note.
- Note
- Apply Note to all orders with title - Toggling this box will apply the note to all orders for this title
- Show Client - Toggling this box will make it so that this note can be viewed by clients
Once the required fields are selected, click on add note to apply these changes.
Bulk adding notes
Users have the ability to bulk add notes to multiple order items in a single action. This can be done through various pages but the functionality is the same. These pages are:
- Order items dashboard
- Task dashboard
- Order details page
Navigate to the page and select the entities that require the note. In this example we'll be adding notes to the order items.
Click on “Selected Actions” menu and select “Add Note” from the dropdown.
From here, the user can add new notes similar to if adding notes individually.
The user will receive a green confirmation popup if the note was added successfully.
Viewing Existing Notes
Existing notes appear on the upper half of the notes window. These notes should default to descending order with the most recent note listed at the very top.
There are 3 filters users can use to narrow down these notes:
View- allows users to choose which types of notes to view (order item notes, order notes, deliverable, rejection, etc). By default, the Notes window is set to display All Notes.
Status- Allows users to choose the status of the notes to view. By default only active notes will be shown.
Client Notes- Allows users to choose if they want to view notes that have or have not been avail'd to clients
Each displayed note will have the following datapoints:
- Note Type - What the note applies to (deliverable, order item, order, etc)
- Timestamp - When the note was created
- User - Who created the note
- Notes - The contents of the note. Typically will note what work is still outstanding, where the file is staged, etc.
- Status - If the note is active or closed
- Show Client - If the note is visible to the client or not
Sending Note as an Email
Existing notes can be sent to a recipient via email. This can be done by clicking on the envelope icon at the right of the note.
This reveals a recipient field where the email address of the recipient can be entered. Click on the blue paper airplane to confirm this action.
A green confirmation window will appear if the email was successfully delivered. The recipient will receive an email like below in their inbox.
Closing Notes
When outstanding tasks are completed, users can close out the note by marking the status as Closed. This will update the overall note status to closed.